Covenant Health
This week's reflection

This week's reflection

The things you do for yourself are gone when you are gone, but the things you do for others remain as your legacy.

Kalu Ndukwe Kalu

Volunteer with Covenant Health

Volunteer Recruitment Adbars3d Mar18 2013

It is our mission to provide patients and residents with superior care and services. It would be impossible to achieve this mission without the patience and dedication of our volunteers. Our volunteers offer their time, talents and energy to help create a nurturing, healing environment for the people we serve. Join our team and be a part of the success.

Benefits of volunteering

At Covenant Health, we offer a wide range of volunteer programs to meet the needs of our patients and their families. The diverse range of volunteer opportunities means there's something for everyone, no matter your skills or availability. Our volunteer programs allow our volunteers to:

  • Broaden their experience
  • Gain new skills
  • Contribute to the lives of those we serve

Volunteer Week

Every year, Covenant Health celebrates Volunteer Week, paying tribute to the more than 2,700 volunteers who work in our facilities across Alberta. Volunteers fulfill many roles – exercising their skills, interests and talents in support of our employees, patients, residents and physicians.

Here is a look at some of the work that volunteers do in our communities: Volunteers in our communities

How to reach us

Thank you for your interest in volunteering with Covenant Health. To volunteer, please contact the facility you are interested in.
Please click here to download the directory.

Banff Mineral Springs Hospital, Banff

Becoming a volunteer with Banff Mineral Springs Hospital means both giving yourself and learning from others. It is a valued gift and privilege.

Apply now

Tamara Wewetzer
Volunteer Coordinator
403.762.2222
Tamara.Wewetzer@covenanthealth.ca

Bonnyville Health Centre, Bonnyville

Apply now

Wendy Campbell 
Volunteer Coordinator
Phone: 780.826.3311 ext 270
Wendy.L.Campbell@albertahealthservices.ca

Edmonton General Continuing Care Centre, Edmonton

Apply now

Rossanna Reyes
Volunteer Coordinator
780.342.8270
rossanna.reyes@covenanthealth.ca

Shelly Eckert
Volunteer Coordinator
Phone:  780.342.8442
shelly.eckert@covenanthealth.ca

Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Edmonton

Thank you for considering becoming a Grey Nuns Community Hospital volunteer! Below you will find the information you need to begin your volunteer journey with us.

Apply now

Amanda Mason
Volunteer Coordinator
Phone: 780.735.7270
Amanda.Mason@covenanthealth.ca 

Teresa Lucier
Manager
Phone: 780.735.7271
Teresa.Lucier@covenanthealth.ca

St. Joseph’s Auxiliary Hospital, Edmonton

Volunteer now

Florrie Abt
Volunteer Coordinator
Phone: 780.430.3441
Florrie.Abt@CovenantHealth.ca

St. Joseph’s General Hospital, Vegreville

Apply now

Anthony Brannen
Site Administrator
(780) 603.4431
Anthony.Brannen@covenanthealth.ca

Janet Hope
Clinical Safety Coordinator
(780) 603.4431
Janet.Hope@covenanthealth.ca 

St. Joseph’s Home, Medicine Hat

Ryan Wiest
Site Administrator
Phone: 403.526.3818
Ryan.Wiest@covenanthealth.ca

Killam Health Centre, Killam

Apply now

Marion Merritt
Unit Manager (seniors program)
Phone: 780.385.3291
Marion.Merritt@covenanthealth.ca

St. Mary’s Health Care Centre, Trochu

Apply now

Faith Henkel
Volunteer Coordinator
Phone: 403.442.3955 ext. 298
Faith.Henkel@covenanthealth.ca

St. Mary's Hospital, Camrose

Apply now

Anna Radchenko

Volunteer Coordinator
Phone: 780.679.6145
Anna.Radchenko@CovenantHealth.ca

Mary Immaculate Hospital, Mundare

Apply now

Effie Lakusta 

Recreation Therapy Assistant
Phone: 780.764.3730
Effie.Lakusta@CovenantHealth.ca

St. Michael’s Health Centre, Lethbridge

Apply now

Volunteer Coordinator
403.382.6414

Our volunteers enrich our residents’ quality of life by helping with the many programs for our residents and are essential to our Covenant Health family.

We encourage families and friends to take part in volunteer activities. Volunteers are required to complete an application, attend an interview and receive orientation and training before starting their volunteer placement. 

All volunteers must provide a criminal record check through the police service and sign a confidentiality agreement.

Misericordia Community Hospital, Edmonton

Apply now

Esperanza Alvez
Volunteer Coordinator
780.735.2354
Esperanza.alvez@covenanthealth.ca

Brenda Shim
Manager
780.735.2753
Brenda.shim@covenanthealth.ca 

Our Lady of the Rosary Hospital, Castor

Apply now

Kiersten Aller
Health Care Aide
403.882.3434 

St. Therese Villa, Lethbridge

Apply now

Christey Ann Veldman, Activity & Volunteer Supervisor
403.332.5313
Christey-Ann.Veldman@covenanthealth.ca

Villa Caritas, Edmonton

Apply now

Esperanza Alvez
Volunteer Coordinator
780.735.2354
Esperanza.alvez@covenanthealth.ca

Volunteer Services offers a wide variety of volunteer programs to meet the needs of patients and their families. 

Our volunteers are an essential part of our hospital team, offering a number of programs to meet your needs and assist during your hospital stay. Volunteers bridge the gap between the services that professional and other employees provide, and provide the little "extras" that add to your well-being while you are in the hospital.

Our volunteers are from every walk of life and age group and give their time, talents and energy to help create a nurturing, healing environment every day.

Youville Home, St. Albert

Apply now

Monica McFadden
Volunteer Services Coordinator
Phone: 78o.418.5301
Monica.McFadden@CovenantHealth.ca